Personal information

Date and place of birth: 10 January 1961, Perm

Family status: married, has a daughter and a son.

    Education:
  • In 1983, A. Vavilov graduated from the Moscow Institute of Management as cyber-economist.
  • In 1985, he defended a thesis for the degree of Ph.D. in economy at the Central Economics and Mathematics Institute of the Russian Academy of Science.
  • In 2002, he defended a thesis for the degree of D.Sc. in economy at the Central Economics and Mathematics Institute of the Russian Academy of Science.
    Research interests:
  • public finance and public debt management;
  • open economy;
  • local government.

Employment History and Research Activities

Institute for Financial Studies

Late in 1996, A. Vavilov and his colleagues founded a research center – the Institute for Financial Studies. The Institute is mainly staffed with high-qualification economists and financiers who used to work with the Central Economics and Mathematics Institute of the Russian Academy of Science and MFK Bank, including the head of the MFK Analytical Department. Shortly after the start, the IFS grew into one of Russia`s leading think-tanks engaged in extensive studies of macroeconomics, budgeting, monetary policy, etc. for corporate clients and the Russian Government including the Ministry of Finance, Central Bank and Federal Financial Markets Service.

Open Economy

From 1985 Mr. Vavilov worked as an engineer and a junior researcher at the Central Economics and Mathematics Institute. In 1988 he took the position of a senior researcher at the Institute of Economics and Research and Technology Advancement Forecasts.

In 1991, Vavilov headed a laboratory at the newly founded Institute for Market Problems of the USSR Academy of Science.

In 1991 – 1992 Vavilov worked as a researcher at the Institute for International Economics, Washington.

In September 1992, Vavilov was appointed the head of the Macroeconomics Department of Russia`s Finance Ministry.

In 1995 – 1997 Vavilov was a Government representative at the Council of Federation of Russia.

From 1992, Vavilov has been engaged in Russia`s economic policy. From November 1992 to 1997, he occupied the position of the first deputy finance minister. Development and implementation of efficient macroeconomic policy, federal budgeting and establishing relations with international finance institutions such as International Monetary Fund and World Bank were among his responsibilities.

From 1998 to 2002, A. Vavilov was CEO of the Institute for Financial Studies; since 2002 he has been in the position of the Institute's Research Council Chairperson.

Since 2007 he is a Visiting Senior Scholar at Penn State University; since 2008 - a Co-director of the Center for the Study of Auctions, Procurements and Competition Policy at Penn State (CAPCP) and a Scientific Advisor at the Center for Research on International Financial and Energy Security (CRIFES).

Public Finance and Public Debt Management

From 1992 to 1997, Vavilov was member of the Intergovernmental Committee for Public Debt and Property of the Russian Federation.

Vavilov was one of the founders of the Russian public debt, first domestic (current liabilities), then foreign (eurobonds). As the first deputy finance minister, he was in charge of issuing first Russian eurobonds in 1996-97 and the so-called Finance Ministry bonds. After this market was thrown open, public debt management became one of Vavilov's top priorities as the first deputy finance minister.

Other Activities

In 1997, Vavilov occupied the post of the President of the International Finance Company (MFK) Bank.

In 1998-99 he was a financial counselor at the RAO Gazprom Board.

In 2000, Vavilov acquired the controlling stock of a small oil company, Severnaya Neft. As the Chairman of the Board of Directors, in a less than four years` time, he turned the company into one of Russia`s leading independent petrol producers (not belonging to petrol holdings).

From 2002 till March 2010, A. Vavilov was member of the Council of Federation representing the Penza region Legislative Assembly.

In 2010 Dr. Vavilov became the Chairman of board of directors of the company SuperOx, an innovative research and production company, operating since 2006. SuperOx is one of the leading world centers of gathering intellectual capital in nanotechnologies research in general,  and high temperature superconductivity in particular.

Since 2010 he is a member of the Commission for Modernisation and Technological Development of Russia`s Economy.

Личная информация

Дата и место рождения: 10 января 1961 г., Пермь.

Семейное положение: женат. Имеет дочь и сына.

    Образование:
  • В 1983 г. окончил Московский институт управления по специальности «экономист-кибернетик».
  • В 1985 г. защитил диссертацию на соискание научной степени кандидата экономических наук в Центральном экономико-математическом институте Российской Академии наук.
  • В 2002 г. защитил диссертацию на соискание научной степени доктора экономических наук в Центральном экономико-математическом институте Российской Академии наук.
    Научные интересы:
  • государственные финансы и управление государственным долгом;
  • открытая экономика;
  • проблема местного самоуправления.

Профессиональная и научная деятельность

Институт финансовых исследований

В конце 1996 г. А.П. Вавилов с коллегами основал исследовательский центр – Институт финансовых исследований. Основная часть персонала Института состоит из высококвалифицированных экономистов и финансистов, ранее работавших в Центральном экономико-математическом институте Российской Академии наук и Банке «МФК», включая главу аналитического департамента «МФК». Вскоре ИФИ стал одним из известных российских мозговых центров, ведущих обширную исследовательскую работу в области макроэкономики, составления бюджета, валютной политики и т.д. для корпоративных клиентов и российского правительства, включая Министерство финансов, Центральный банк, ФКЦБ.

Открытая экономика

С 1985 г. А.Вавилов являлся инженером, младшим научным сотрудником Центрального экономико-математического института (ЦЭМИ). В 1988 г. перешел в Институт экономики и прогнозирования научно-технического прогресса на должность старшего научного сотрудника.

В 1991 г. А.Вавилов возглавил лабораторию вновь созданного Института проблем рынка Академии наук СССР.

В 1991 – 1992 гг. являлся научным сотрудником Института международной экономики, Вашингтон.

В сентябре 1992 г. он был назначен главой Департамента макроэкономики Министерства финансов РФ.

В 1995 – 1997 г. являлся представителем Правительства в Совете Федерации РФ.

С 1992 г. А.П. Вавилов активно вовлечен в российскую экономическую политику. С ноября 1992 г. по 1997 г. являлся первым заместителем министра финансов. В сферу ответственности Вавилова входила разработка и реализация эффективной макроэкономической политики, решение проблем федерального бюджета и выстраивание отношений с международными финансовыми организациями, такими как Международный валютный фонд и Международный банк.

С 1998 г. по 2002 г. А.П. Вавилов являлся директором Института финансовых исследований, а с 2002 г. – председателем научного совета Института.

C 2007 г. он также является приглашенным старшим исследователем Университета штата Пенсильвания, а с 2008 г. - директором Центра по изучению аукционов, закупок и политики поддержки конкуренции Университета штата Пенсильвания (CAPCP) и научным советником Центра по изучению международной финансовой и энергетической безопасности (CRIFES).

Государственные финансы и управление государственным долгом

С 1992 по 1997 гг. А.П. Вавилов был членом Межправительственной комиссии по внешнему долгу и имуществу Российской Федерации.

А.П. Вавилов был также одним из основателей рынка российского государственного долга, сначала внутреннего (ГКО) и затем иностранного (еврооблигации). В качестве первого заместителя министра финансов он отвечал за организацию выпуска первых российских еврооблигаций в 1996-1997 гг. и так называемые облигации Минфина. После запуска этого рынка управление государственным долгом было одной из приоритетных задач А.П.Вавилова на посту первого заместителя министра.

Иная профессиональная деятельность

В 1997 г. занимал должность Президента банка «Международная финансовая компания» (МФК).

В 1998-99 гг. был советником Председателя правления РАО «Газпром» по финансовым вопросам.

В 2000 г. А.П. Вавилов приобрел контрольный пакет акций в маленькой российской нефтяной компании «Северная нефть». Будучи Председателем Совета директоров, менее чем за четыре года он сделал эту компанию одним из ведущих независимых российских нефтяных производителей (среди компаний, не принадлежащих российским нефтяным холдингам).

С 2002 г. по март 2010 г. А.П. Вавилов являлся членом Совета Федерации Федерального Собрания РФ - представитель от Законодательного собрания Пензенской области.

С марта 2010 г. А.П. Вавилов стал Председателем совета директоров ЗАО «СуперОкс», инновационной научно-производственной компании, действующей с 2006 г.  и являющейся одним из ведущих мировых центров генерации интеллектуального капитала в области исследований на наноуровне, в частности, по тематике высокотемпературной сверхпроводимости.

С июля 2010 года - член рабочей группы Комиссии по модернизации и технологическому развитию экономики России при Президенте РФ.